What if I’m Injured By Someone Driving Without Insurance in Miami, Florida?
Drivers in the state of Florida are required by law to carry insurance for their vehicles. Despite this requirement, however, not every driver maintains his or her coverage. According to the Insurance Information Institute, Florida actually has the highest percentage of uninsured drivers at nearly 27%.
If you've been injured in a car accident involving an uninsured driver, you may not know what your first step is insofar as recouping for your losses. Fortunately, you don't have to go it alone. A Miami car accident lawyer can be right there by your side, helping you plan every step of your claim from your first to your last.
Florida Insurance Laws
Florida’s no-fault law mandates that drivers have at least some insurance coverage on their vehicles. The base coverage required by law includes $10,000 of coverage each for personal injury protection, and $10,000 for property damage liability. Individuals who have a history of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, as well as those who have been found liable for a serious accident, are required to carry additional coverage above and beyond the normal amounts.
The state of Florida requires drivers to obtain the minimum coverage before they secure their license plates or registration. Drivers are also required to keep that coverage for the entire duration of the time in which they own and operate their vehicles. If a driver experiences a lapse in coverage, s/he must surrender his or her license and registration immediately.
Any time a driver is found to be operating a vehicle without the proper insurance coverage, he or she can lose his or her license and registration for a maximum of three years. Drivers can have their documents reinstated sooner – so long as they have proof of insurance.
However, each time a driver wishes to reinstate his or her license and registration, the state of Florida assesses a fee. For the first offense, it is $150. For the second and third offense, the fee becomes substantially more. For instance, if the second offense occurs within three years of the first offense, the driver will incur a $250 fee, plus an additional $500 fee to reinstate his driving credentials.
If you have been hit with one of these fees, but you have proof that you did, in fact, have insurance coverage during the time period in question, our expert team of personal injury lawyers can help you fight to clear your record.
When you've been injured by an uninsured driver, you may be concerned about who is expected to pay for your expenses. The state of Florida's no-fault law provides that your insurance company is responsible for covering approximately 80 percent of your medical bills, as well as comping you for lost wages and/or other expenses.
Your remaining expenses should be covered by the other driver's insurance. However, if he or she doesn't have the required insurance coverage, this can throw a wrench in that plan. An experienced personal injury lawyer can take your case to court and fight for the other driver to come up with the money you are entitled to.
Compensation When the Other Driver Doesn't Have Insurance
If you have not yet been in an accident wherein you suffered an injury caused by a driver without insurance, you can protect yourself by obtaining additional coverage on your own policy. Insurance companies offer certain options that cover you for damages resulting from accidents involving uninsured drivers. They may also cover you in the event the other driver does not have enough coverage to reimburse for your expenses.
However, if you have suffered an injury in one of these situations, you may still be able to recover the money you need to help cover your expenses. Drivers without the required insurance in the state of Florida are personally liable for the damages they inflict as the result of an accident. A Miami personal injury lawyer can help you file a civil lawsuit against the other driver to enforce the other driver’s liability and recoup money to cover your damages.
As far as the sort of damages you can recover in your civil lawsuit, you'll be able to sue for your remaining medical expenses not covered by your insurance. Additionally, if you lost wages or incurred other expenses as a result of your injury, you may also sue for those damages, as well.
Ready To Explore Your Options? We’re Here To Help!
If you've been seriously injured in a car accident, then you've already suffered enough. Dealing with your insurance company is a stressful ordeal, but having to recover additional damages from an uninsured driver can be an overwhelming process. That’s where an experienced Miami car accident lawyer comes in. Our team can help you get justice and peace of mind when you don’t know where else to turn.
If you are seeking a lawyer’s help in getting the money you deserve for your injuries, lost wages, and suffering, contact a Miami car accident lawyer. Contact us using the contact form on the right, or give us a call at 305-928-2909. There's no obligation to retain our expert services, and your initial consultation is 100% free. Call now and take that first step toward relief!